God directs the plans of your heart.

Monday, 16 August 2010.

I love to plan. I love my diary, schedules, meetings and dot points! It’s important for me to be organised, especially when so much is happening around me. At school, I was encouraged to make plans. Knowing what I wanted to do when I left school was a big deal. From that decision, subjects were selected, a career pathway was mapped out and the goal of finishing Year 12 with a high enough score for university was set. Now as an adult, I still plan. There’s planning in my job, planning at home and making diary dates with friends, to name a few.

Proverbs 16:9 (NLT) says, “We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.” The Message puts it like this, “We plan the way we want to live, but only God makes us able to live it.”

It is good to plan. For me, it is a natural tendency of my personality. Perhaps it is or isn’t for you too. Whatever your personality, it’s important to talk to God in your planning. Ask Him for direction and help in what you’re doing.

I said earlier that planning during high school was a big deal for me. In fact, I had a 10 year plan all laid out and written. Well 10 years has now passed and as I look back, I can clearly see God walking with me and directing me. Have I accomplished everything that was written in my 10 year plan? No. Have things changed over the last 10 years and has God directed me in ways I never imagined? Absolutely!

A Girl of Wisdom knows that planning is a good thing to do but doesn’t do it on her own. She includes God in her planning and understands that in His goodness, God may lead her in ways that are currently outside of the plans of her heart.

What are your thoughts & opinions about this topic?

