The Blessed Life of the Tenderhearted Girl.

Saturday 28th August 2010

A close friend of mine shared some terrible news with me a little while ago. When she told me, my eyes filled with tears and I was sad for hours after… even though the situation hadn’t happened directly to me, I still felt the pain as I love my friend very much.

Experienced anything similar? Maybe you feel your heart moved when you see images on TV about poverty in Third World countries. Perhaps you hear horrible events on the news and feel the weight of living in such a harsh world.

All of the above is evidence of a tenderhearted girl. The feminine heart has the beautiful God-given capacity to be moved by the suffering of others. It’s called compassion- the ability to put yourself in another person’s shoes, feel their pain… and then do something about it. But not all girls and women have compassion…

Proverbs 28:14 (MSB) says The tenderhearted person lives a blessed life; a hardhearted person lives a hard life. The difference between a tenderhearted girl and a hardhearted girl is that one thinks about others and not just herself;  the other is self-centred and only cares about herself.

God teaches us that a tenderhearted life is a blessed life. Because when you choose to put others before yourself, you are putting in practice the very heart and nature of our Creator. I’ve found in my own life that when I look after others, God has a divine way of taking care of me…. and it’s a blessed life that I could never have created on my own.

What type of girl are you? Tenderhearted or hardhearted? The choice is yours. A Girl of Wisdom notices others… sees others… listens to others… and makes a difference in the lives of others.

It truly is the blessed way to live.

What are your thoughts & opinions about this topic?

