People-Pleasing vs. Trusting in God

Sunday, 29 August 2010.

In the last few weeks, I’ve had something on my heart that I knew God was prompting me to share with a close friend. I felt nervous about sharing it and in the end it took me a few days or so to pluck up the courage to speak with her. Why? Because I had questions going through my mind. Questions like, “But what will she think of me?” and “How will she respond?” Or worse, “What if she disagrees, isn’t supportive or doesn’t like what I say?”

We all want to be liked. We want our friends, families and colleagues to think the best of us. Out of this comes our human tendency to please people. Proverbs 29:25 (NLT) says, “Fearing people is a dangerous trap, but trusting the Lord means safety.”

This verse came to mind when I was wrestling with “what if” questions in this situation. My heart is to please God and to listen to and obey his promptings. In this situation, He had prompted me to share and when I did, I found that I had nothing to worry about. On reflection, even if sharing with my friend hadn’t gone as I’d hoped, I had obeyed what God had asked me to do and this far outweighs any response that may have been given.

People-pleasing is a trap that causes anxiety and worry. It catches you and before you know it your thoughts, words and actions become imprisoned to others, or at least, your perspective of what others may think of you. In contrast, trusting in God brings freedom for His love for you is unfailing and doesn’t fluctuate. Indeed, trusting in God brings protection.

A Girl of Wisdom knows that God loves her very much. She chooses to put her trust in Him and not people. This week I encourage you to ask God to show you when you are having a people-pleasing moment. Ask Him to help direct your heart to put your hope in Him, knowing that by trusting God, you are safe.

What are your thoughts & opinions about this topic?

