WHY do you do what you do?

Saturday 20th November 2010

God does not only watch what you do, but He also sees why you do it! A Girl of Wisdom understands that her motivations are just as important and as powerful as her actual words and actions. 

Throughout my years in high school, it was so common to watch girls be really nice to the “popular group.” I’m sure you know what I mean! Their words and actions gave the message that they really liked the popular girls. However, everyone else knew that they were only behaving that way to be accepted or to avoid being bullied by that crowd… deep down, they didn’t really like them at all!! 

Proverbs 16:2 (NLT) says, “People may be pure in their own eyes, but the Lord examines their motives.”

Have you ever reflected on things you have said or done and asked yourself, “Now why did I say or do that?” And have you every answered yourself truthfully?

The journey of self-awareness can be uncomfortable and confronting, but as you choose to take an honest look at your motivations, God can begin to shape you into more of the amazing girl that He desires you to be!

“Dear God, thank you that you care so much for me that you don’t just watch what I do, but you are also interested in why I do what I do! I want to invite you to show me my motivations. Help me to understand my words and actions. Reveal to me things within my heart that need to change and give me the wisdom to know how to change those things. Amen.”

What are your thoughts & opinions about this topic?

