Three Thoughts on the Changing Seasons of Life.

Wednesday 22 December, 2010.

Four seasons in one day… for those who live in Melbourne you know what I’m talking about!! The weather can be so unpredictable. I’ve been caught out many times when I’ve looked out the window in the morning and seen the sun shining. I plan my wardrobe, head out to work and within a few hours I’m wishing I had chosen something from my winter wardrobe!!

There are four seasons in the world – autumn, winter, spring and summer. And just as there are these environmental seasons, we also experience changing seasons in our personal lives.

Seasons are found right throughout the bible. Psalm 23 (NLT) paints a picture of the different seasons we find ourselves in and gives insight into what to do when we’re there. Verses 1-4 say:

“The Lord is my shepherd, I have all that I need. He lets me rest in green meadows, He leads me beside peaceful streams. He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honour to His name. Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for You are close beside me. Your rod and Your staff protect and comfort me.”

Here are three thoughts from this passage:

1. The Lord is your Shepherd.

Whether you are in a winter season where life seems cold, dark and brittle or you are in summer where you are surrounded by sunshine and blooming flowers, God is your shepherd. Take comfort in knowing that He is right there with you no matter what season you are in.

2. Walk when in winter.

Winter seasons are often the hardest. Usually during this time, things don’t seem to be going to plan and there can be sadness, loneliness or heartache.

The key to this season is to keep walking through the valley, not aimlessly, but following the good shepherd that is Jesus Christ. He will lead you through it.

3. Rest when in summer.

Part of this season is resting in God and allowing Him to minister to and restore you. Summer always follows after winter so it is important to allow the process of restoration to occur.

So what season are you in at the moment? What can you do to handle your season well? I pray that whatever circumstance you are currently in, that you would sense God’s peace and leading in your life. 

What are your thoughts & opinions about this topic?

