“Keeping up with the Joneses”- why jealousy is a waste of time. By guest blogger, Natasha Nevison.

Wednesday 22nd June 2011
 
A little while ago, it seemed like everyone in my world was getting a whole lot of ‘stuff’ that they really wanted and longed for.  Beautiful cars, their dream homes, incredible holidays in exotic locations….even the exact pair of shoes they were looking for! 
 
At times I was feeling a little green with envy to the point that instead of rejoicing with my friends, it was eating me up inside.  I simply couldn’t afford to buy what they have and it was bugging me. Big time! 
 
When I looked in the dictionary to see what ‘envy’ really meant, these words came up…..spite, discontentment, uneasiness at other’s fortune, rivalry and hatred.  Yuk!  These really aren’t the characteristics that I want to aspire to have in my life.
 
Feeling the need for some perspective, I picked up the Bible to see what pearls of wisdom I could find.  Proverbs 14:30 says, “A relaxed attitude lengthens life; jealousy rots it away.”  Psalm 23:6 says, “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life.”
 
Wow…simply letting go of the striving, the yearning and the chasing after what others have will bring joy and contentment with what we have. God promises that He will bring good things into our lives and take care of everything we need, until the end of our days.  Not only does He give us what we need, but the Bible mentions that He gives us things for our enjoyment!
 
The next time you feel jealousy start to rear its ugly head, just remember to be grateful and to rejoice with others in their good times. A Girl of Wisdom knows that she’ll soon see all of the many delights coming into her life!
 
Written by Natasha Nevison- qualified teacher, wife of media guru Paul, mother of two gorgeous girls, Intimo Lingerie Consultant, beautiful friend!
What are your thoughts & opinions about this topic?

