A Girl of Wisdom desires to make a difference…

195868_5143069031_3050_n“She’s quick to assist anyone in need and reaches out to help the poor.”

Proverbs 31:20

 I have a friend named Deborah. She is much younger than me (I was born in 1981 and she was born in 1995- you do the maths!). She loves to draw, sing and play soccer. When asked what she would like to be when she grows up, Deborah will declare that she wants to be a doctor. How amazing is that?? In August 2007, I boarded a plane and travelled to where she lives. I got to meet her for the first time.

 As Deborah walked towards me, tears began to roll down my cheeks. When she finally reached me, she knelt down at my feet. The translator explained that this was a cultural gesture meaning, “I owe you my life.” Deborah then stood up again and we simply looked into each other’s eyes for a long moment. I then received the biggest hug of my life!

Deborah has a mum, dad and seven siblings. And they all live in a mud hut no bigger than a little camping tent. And yet, Deborah is just like you and me. She likes music and sport. She argues with her brothers… She wants to be a doctor.

You see, what I didn’t tell you at the beginning was that Deborah lives in Uganda, Africa. Uganda is a country filled with poverty, injustice and suffering that is beyond our comprehension. My family sponsors Deborah through a humanitarian organisation. Each month, my husband and I pay a certain amount of money and this ensures that Deborah gets to go to school, has three meals a day, receives medical attention if she gets sick and provides her family with practical help.

I hope this final pearl of wisdom touches your heart in a powerful way. If it does, your life will never be the same again. A Girl of Wisdom desires to make a difference. Not just within her family, not just amongst her friends, not just within school. She is a beautiful girl, filled with compassion, who wants to help the world.

In our next blog post, we conclude this special blog feature by showing you how possible it is to make a difference in this world! As 2013 draws to an end and we get ready to enter 2014, let’s decide that the new year ahead will be less about ourselves and more about others.

What are your thoughts & opinions about this topic?

